Uncategorized

Oktoberfest Zinzinnati

Last Saturday, I got a group text from a few friends asking me if I wanted to venture to Cincinnati for Oktoberfest. Having nothing else planned for the rest of the day, I decided, why not! Some other friends and I met at “French’s” apartment, my bro and avid flavor tester, around noon and embarked on our journey to the “Nasty Natti” from Lexington.

We had a decent sized group, around 8 of us in total. After our last comrade arrived, we decided to hit the road. The trip was an hour and a half, so while we were on our way I decided to do a little research.

Upon looking at the site, I knew we were in for a good time! Oktoberfest Zinncinatti is the biggest Oktoberfest outside of Munich, Bavaria, Germany and attracts over 500,000 tourists annually.

The festival is initiated by the running of the wieners, which is a race between 100 dachshunds, dressed up as wieners. Unfortunately, we missed it, so no cutesy dachshund pictures in this blog post. Stay tuned and I’m sure the opportunity will arise again.

We Arrived at Cincinnati and trekked across a private bridge and made our way toward Broadway!

20150919_161123

As soon as I started hearing carnival music and drunken chants I knew that we were nearing our destination. I came here for one thing and one thing only, the food! However, that would work against me later in the evening…

Don’t get me wrong beer is good and all but I love to eat!

Here are a few of the foods we got to try:

IMG_20150919_202633

This was one of my favorite items here, a simple bratwurst with sauerkraut and peppers; I couldn’t resist taking a bite before the picture!

IMG_20150919_183649

I never knew that these actually existed, if you’ve seen the Boondocks cartoon, these donut burgers are referred to as “ The Luther Burger” by the protagonists grand-dad. A bit of fan theory dawned on me while sampling this delicacy… granddad must have gotten this recipe while serving time as a fighter pilot in the air force. Aaron Mcgruder, the creator of the Boondocks, definitely went above and beyond in this reference but I’ll save that for another post.

images

I had a few different beers here; they were filled to the brim and damn potent! My favorite was the Dragon’s Milk . I had to get the souvenir cup as well.

IMG_20150919_202539

There were a host of characters at Oktoberfest from the religious fanatics of the Westboro Baptist church, to some guys parading around in storm trooper costumes.

The storm troopers were, without a doubt, my favorite.

Then there is this guy, I was a little too inebriated to remember his name.

Oktoberfest curly_stash

Maybe one day I’ll have facial hair like his when I grow up.

I finished the day with more food and grabbed a goetta wrap. Goetta is a grainy sausage and it’s the bomb! However, something in the wrap didn’t sit well with me, most likely the cream cheese that’d sit out all day and I lost most of my food on the side of Craig’s truck…

But, all in all, it was a successful Saturday!

Until next time!

 

-Les Sandusky

IMG_20150919_201903

Leave a Reply

